Sticky Advertising

I’m trying to find ways to get my blog posts noticed, so I’ve been paying more attention to the power of advertising.  I have questions like:

1. What is my blog “demographic”?

Blog your passion and they will come are the words of wisdom from the blog gurus.  I agree, but being slightly paranoid, I still want to make sure that there are people out there who share my interests and will take the time to read what I have to say.

More wisdom from the Gurus is to find your niche and make it the focus of your blog posts.  Great…I’m one of those “Jack of all trade but master of none” types so I just can’t commit to daily or weekly ramblings on the benefits of a Vegan Lifestyle for Silver Lake retro tatoo artists.

2. What are some creative ways I can get blog posts noticed?

offer date nights with American Idol contestants, an evening with Oprah, free tickets to the WWHL clubhouse, NeNe Leakes anger management classes …

3. How do I keep people coming back for more?

see #2 above

4. If I get enough interest  can I take the next step and start up a website and generate income?

Have you made it once you exceed 100 hits on your blog site?

5. How long until I become the next Perez Hilton?

Lady Gaga & The Launch Of V61 Hosted By V Magazine & Marc Jacobshttp://perezhilton.com/

So I googled “tips for putting together a good advertising campaign.”  and clicked on “top 10 tips for an effective advertising campaign”  I was immediately assaulted with a pop up ad that once closed was forgotten like last nights dinner.  I do remember that there were, it seems,  5 ads for Wells Fargo Bank.  Was this a google adsense generated ad that was somehow magically predetermined to be effective based on high paying keywords and a Goo do chant? Yes I said Goo Do chant. It’s like a Vu Du chant but only happens while googling.

My inquiring mind wants to know how much Wells Fargo is paying for the ad, how many clicks has it generated, how much the web owner is making per click, and will somebody actually visit Silver Lake Tattoo since I posted a pic of them above.

I wasn’t convinced of the power of advertising on websites, however, in my research I discovered that 97% of Googles revenue comes  from advertising, of which 67% is generated through adsense.  In the 3rd quarter 2010 google revenue was 7.29 $B with a valuation of approximately 197$B.  That’s like the value of 100 Oprahs.

As I was trying to figure out how to embed videos into my blog (just my 3rd blog post, come on now I’m making progress here) I came across the following foreign made TV commercials  that I really enjoyed.  Is it just me or do foreign ads seem edgier, more creative, and kinda make you actually want to watch them instead of fast forward the dvr?

What the hell is this?

No, it’s not a new millennium inkblot or Snooki’s pupils after a night out in the Jersey Shore.  It’s actually a 2D bar code (sometimes referred to as QR code) and is expected to take advertising to a whole new level because it can be placed almost anywhere (magazines, billboards, buses, cabs, products, store signs, etc) and is easily scanned into a smartphone.  Once the code is scanned and it connects with the appropriate App, the phone is immediately directed to a website with access to all the latest promotions, product information, new products and services etc.

I first noticed this type of bar code  when I used a mobile boarding pass on a United flight last fall.  It was very cool to have a paperless ticket but I was kind of worried about the phone dying or not being able to access the mobile e-ticket once I got in line to board the plane. I didn’t have any problems and it worked perfectly.

Question of the day:

Can you remember the last time a TV commercial, magazine ad, billboard ad or a website ad actually persuaded you to buy something?

What type of ads are the most effective?

Would you use a QR code to find out the latest promotional information on a product or service?

5 thoughts on “Sticky Advertising

  1. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or
    anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  2. Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

